http://ilearntechnology.com/?p=4592 The site that turns your words into your picture
Pyramid Champs Nicole & Lisa
Heads Up Top 3
1. Tehreem 91 points 2. Lisa 83 (2nd time on the top 3 list) 2. Anurag 75
Wednesday, March 21, 2012
Education System
Journal
Response
What changes would you make in the education
system? Or do you feel the system is good how it is? (Topics to consider;
curriculum, teachers, buildings, classes, students, testing, pedagogy,
technology, etc.)
The thing i would change is the justice of kids just cause a teacher has one story and kids have a different one the teachers automatically right without even a single explanation.
And i would change the lies that the board are forming or like there trying to prepare us for the future by not failing us or not allowing teachers to give us a grade under 40 but in the future like High school University or College or just real life they wont do that if you're failing you're failing they'll fail you without remorse how would we be prepared its hard not being failed or kept back for like 10 years then it changes without a single explanation for a lot of kids. They may be trying to help us but there really not were not going to be prepared to have a job not do as much work and be fired its common sense but its not taught to us when we were kids.
Interesting observations. Without any explanation you say? Are you sure about that? Don't we talk about the difficulties coming in high school frequently?
i think if you start failing student in the elementary system it might cause the drop out rates to go higher.i think this because people mostly drop out because students flunk grades in high school
i think there should be many difference in our school rules i think all teachers should be like mr.cheney meaning we should have freedom to use the i pod for educational uses also like we talked about before we should be able to chew gum to improve our marks however the thing that is stopping the teachers to allows us this freedom is because we overuse our powers meaning we use the ipod's or other things like texting or face book and for chewing gum we put the gum below the table
if we don't do these stuff the principals will approve these stuff
hmh you think thats possible there are gonna be teachers that wanna teach like Mr.cheney and its hard because there so use to being strict and there morals and values are based on it they wont care if there students like them or not, there getting paid to do it so they dont care they have to teach not make friends
i have to agree with you most teachers should be like Mr. Cheney because he trust us with ipods unlike other teacher they think we are doing something else.
Being a friendly teacher and a friend are different things. Teachers in the end are the leader of their room, and they have to lead in a way that makes them comfortable and maximizes student success. The two objectives sometimes conflict each other.
but if you are a cool teacher more kids will listen to you so i think if you get a teacher job you should put dedication to it you should care about the kids because the kid career is in you r hands
yes i think the education system does need some changes like more technology because some people get bored looking at textbook and LISTENING TO THE TEACHER SPEAK.also if have no clue what the teacher is talking about you could use technology and research on the topic so you can join in with the discussion.Or else i think the education system is fine the way it is.i disagree with video how we should be separated by how good we are in things because everyone is good at something for example some might achieve higher in math or some might achieve higher science.also because when we start high school we start getting separated from the people who achieve well from the people who don't achieve well.i think there shouldn't be student flunking in the elementary system because that can cause the dropout rates to go higher. for example if you failed to grade 5 2 time and grade 4 1 time you would wanna drop out because your not has good as other people.
@Sana I agree with you too, I think the education system needs more technology because the kids do get bored of staring at the board or listening to the teachers giving lectures. I think that if there is technology the students would be more involved in the subject and they would also be more open to new ideas and like how Mr.Cheney told us that the students would have their technology with them and it would be easier for them to learn what the teachers teaching them and they can just search up something that the teacher mentioned and they would have more information to share with the class. The only reason that schools don't allow the students to bring their technology to school is because they are afraid they might lose it or they might use it for the wrong purpose but I think that the school boards should at least give it a try.
no at least you let students speak to im talking of other teacher who keep saying the same thing over and over again because someone starts talking and the teacher starts repeating herself which really annoys me.
Tech by your sides is the way to go, but rules keep these items out because teachers cant control it. Its the world wide web by your side. That kind of power can motivate, create, build wisdom, and intellect. But rules tend to battle against these things.
I don't think that the school is good as it is because, as Nicole and Cheney said,elementary school and middle school doesn't set you up for high school. the learning skills are separate in our report cards but in high school your learning skills are a part of your marks. in high school you are going to be put in a class were everyone is going to be as good as you, and in elementary school the teacher praises you for your good work, which makes you feel better/fell proud of your self but its not going to happen in high school.
i would make changes that would set you up for high school so it wouldnt be difficult for you then( this way you are more comfortable with the system ahead in high school)
we all have a different stage of intellect, but that doesnt mean when you fail a grade you should stay back and do that grade over. as cheney said, to be better you want to have more competition, so you can always improve.
i also think that middle school rules should be changed because going from middle school to high school the levels the standards the expectation and the rule drastically change but do you ever think if middle school rules change it will be more complicated for you?
certainly grade 7 and 8 should reflect the high school system more closely. I would be in favour of Exams at the end of the term. They would be worth 30% of your entire grade...now that is pressure.
I think that education needs to change the 40% minimum in Middle school. I think we should start preparing kids for high school so its not such a quick change. Many kids fail high school because middle schools too lean and they don't prepare us at all for high school habits. Instead of us all getting a minimum of 40% we should have to take a course, make-up class or redo the whole class. Maybe students will perform better if they don't have to adapt that much to high school.
Redo is a great option...how many students at BHJMS would have to redo grade 8 math? then next year what would you do, there would be 10-20 repeating students!
That option would be a bit difficult because you are going to high school next year. Maybe it should be mandatory that they take a special course in the summer so they are better prepared.
My thought about the video is that it does shows the positive and negatives about how school is. It makes the students understand how the school system run, etc.
My opinion about changing the school board rule is some what because the school is okay but I feel as if the grouping and failing should be different.
Grouping: The grouping system should be different because the students should be in a group on the same level as they are. Not one "high" and other "low". When the level of students are together its makes it easier for the teacher to understand who is doing the work and not. Especially when "lows" are together, it makes it easier to understand for the students that they are not going to achieve the minimum expectation to board level.
Failing: The failing system in the school system is not right because as a student its important the you know that you are not able to achieve what the criteria is for the school level. When the student know that he/she is not going to pass if he/she are not putting enough effort then the student will understanding that they need to step up their studies to achieve the expectation.
I don't think it confusing, I would say shocking! I preach this for years, but students don't believe something they have never never seen. When the first bad marks start coming in in grade 9 it is a real shock for many.
If I could change a few things in the education system it would be, technology would one thing I would change, what the schools in the TDSB should buy apple products like iPads and iPods and modify them to only have a few specific apps. I would say this idea would be great because everyone would have one, no one would complain about it. It would enhance our marks because we would have basics and then moderate and after that advance applications. wouldn't need to worry people taking the devices because they would be locked on like the Apple store's devices.
Teachers shouldn't have worries about students using the devices. Because, there would be no apps that would be entertaining to play, specifically for educational uses.
If the school can allow that, then that would be awesome because as Mr Cheney said early in the year, we need to start getting used to the technical world because the cycle is changing this generation.
@JAN101 Well, the iPod would be modified and specifically for educational uses only and the schools has restricted some websites and they could block the websites that the school wouldn't use which would be a lot .
I think the education system does need changes because the education level is either higher for some kids but also lower but just because of that it shouldn't be that they get separated if someone cant do something that doesn't mean you should forget about them.People say it may not be possible but really it is it just needs some more effort we all aren't the same. we all have different reading levels and we are all on different stages.For an example would be Bella Thorn she was diagnosed with dyslexia when she was very young ,this disease is different for everyone hers she just couldn't read and write but she took the effort she read everything she saw and she's a level above her grade reading level now .It just needed an amount of effort so i don't think you should just give up neither should the child be separated as people say kids learn from their peers so maybe if they didn't get separated they would learn from the others. Another reason which is mentioned in the video is that just because if you work hard and get a college degree you know that you going to get a job in the future because its not true anymore going back to the super people article on how people are buying their spot rather then working for their spot maybe it was true back then but i know for sure not anymore.Things can happen along the way that you cant get a job is just the fact that you cant be so sure about.They do need to change the system and bring in some 21st generation things because the current system was designed and conceived for a different age group.
The main things that need to change are the utensils in the learning process as the video says it does get boring and people often find something else to do so maybe if they change it and use now a day tools they education system need interesting things not old school books they want kids to learn what happening these days but if you want to do that then i think you should make them feel as they are in these days not back in the days basically they need to upgrade their levels of utensils
The change I would make in the school board is that they should prepare us for the future and the real world. By not making us fail would prepare us to think we will always get a grade for not doing a lot.It gives us false hope that everything would turn up good in the end.I think in countries like Pakistan and India they do make you fail and you have to redo the hole year until you pass.
The self Esteem movement is/was a powerful one. But we are learning that boosting ego's and telling people how great they are all the time doesnt produce great levels of achievement. But you do feel good about yourself.
Rules and Reward stunt wisdom, intellect, motivation, and creativity.
i think the schools dont have to change much. just more freedom. sort of like mr cheney, he always lets us use ipods for educational uses which is better than taking turns on the computer.i think teachers have to develope trust in us students.even though people would text and use facebook, that is still a good risk to take. mainly because we couldget a better benifit. also music. some students focus better with different thing, so we should be able to chew gum and listen to music. thats just my opinion
Trust has to come both ways. Teachers who didnt grow up with technology will never trust students with technology if they are not using tech to maximize their learning.
I think if I were to change anything in the school education I would change anything I would include the problems in the solution.As they say kids in our age are being fed with all these thins such as computers, iPhones, advertise hoardings,and 100s of television channels. Although there all being seeing as "wrong" and "bad" but what we actually do is use them not only for entertainment purposes but as well in educational purposes kids at this age are seeing these tools as fun and games while they can use them for maths or French.
As well they were talking about routine and how most children go through the same process and are being fed the wrong things and even some kids are being "hypnotised" as having ADHD while they are perfectly al right.
I think that the education system needs to start making changes, because we are still being taught the same way people were taught many years ago, that should change because our world is evolving and our education should be evolving with it. Students these days are becoming more caught up in the new technology and are becoming bored of the same rules in school,so a way engage youth in education is adding more of those stuff, such as letting us use our devices in class (even tough that may be a risk because teachers wouldn't be sure if students are doing work or on facebook or twitter) or instead of giving us book work give us more things to do on the computer
@ nicole i think its just the fact that when we have technology around, it makes it more interesting. we could be doing some work, but i think technology would make it more interesting/interactive
If you are curious and want to expand your knowledge or pre teach before lessons. Then technology can be amazing. Watch a video before the math lesson, look up a quote or person as we talk in class, find a fact about the Oil sands as we discuss the environment. Dont just listen to teachers lecture, explore and share as they talk. Dont just sit and listen to teachers, hear and explore on your devises as they talk.
The education system and grading system I would say is conditioning kids to think that they are either smart or dumb. If they get a's, they are smart, if they fail they are just plain stupid. This is not true, just because someone gets higher grades then someone it doesn't mean they are smarter. The education system labels kids with a letter or number. Also the grade we all supposedly have with our IQs, the higher the IQ, the smarter you are. In schools many kids don't see a point in going to school because they figure that they are dumb, when they start failing and continue to fail they will see no point in school and their life. Because the things we are taught is if we work hard to get high grades, we can go to college and get a job, therefore have a "normal" and "proper" life. So they are just promoting the education system, they dont teach kids to be ambitious and motivated and think outside the box, (the education system box), they teach them to FOLLOW the system and not LEAD their own lives. Because the reward at the end is money, and everyone wants money, we've been exposed to television shows with rich girls who care about money and only money, and we assume money brings happiness. But it really doesnt. Segregation is a huge factor in education, the way we are all separated by our age, and the grades we get, but not our skills. In classrooms we all have to work in groups at some point and most kids don't work well in groups, and get more work done on their own. Some kids need more time to understand something more then others. We even have separatism with race, like that afro-centric school, and catholic schools, we should be separated by our race and beliefs because that effects our learning skills and work habits? And then there are kids who are in behaviour classes, and kids who have developed ADHD who have been proscribed drugs to help them be calm? It seems like the education system is trying the best they can to separate kids as much as they can, with things that dont really matter. And the ADHD thing is a bi-product of things we see on t.v, that can make our brains think a certain way.
I would change a lot of things. One thing is to put classes of kids that they all have different talents or special math skills. Like if there's a class, in that class should be one math brain, one geography brain, one history brain, one french brain, one language brain, one reading brain, one music brain, and yeah you guys get my point.
Also I would change testing. I would let the kids study at home, but I wouldn't let them study 15 minutes before the test because in the end they will forget, so whats the point of doing that? I think that the curriculum should be much higher than it is now. I think that grade 6's should be learning what grade 8's are learning. As well all people would finish school at 17 then you have one year to think what you wanna do. Meantime people in University would finish MUCH faster. Making school there harder, but make it shorter. I would cut out subject that are not needed in school and that everyone that failed will have to repeat the coarse that there selecting. One more thing that I would change is Academic & Applied. There would be no such think as applied because truly it's not needed. If everyone works hard then you will get it right. Teamwork will help you. Including that no one will be send to a 'Help School' like people with ADHD will not be separated from the school that they went to before.One very important thing is that I would not hire teachers that explain on the board. All the teacher will have to make it fun. Eg. If your learning architectural design then she/he would take the class to wonderland or on a plane to see how it's built and how it work also the benefit of fun it gives.
Moreover, Technology will be used, but in my school i would provide it with no apps like temple run, or games like that. The reason why I would do that is that no one will be distracted by anything.
Testing would be different for the reason I wouldn't tell the people what the test is on, I would only say what book it's in. Of coarse, I would make the teacher teach the lesson, it's just the students would study much more than there supposed to, thus, they will remember everything much longer.
Text book work is another thing I would change as we know ourselves textbook work is boring, you barely learn anything, teaching the way where you walk around and keeping the class active would be best and having the class communicate.
I agree , they always make work sound harder then it usually is.Like in math , the textbook has that confusing explanation when the teacher can teach the same thing in a easier way.
Boring, yes, essential skill to have as a reader, yes. You do have to be able to read through material to get info. Your ipods though can help you. Have it with you as you read, there is a video clip that could help you with every category and subcategory.
i think that the educational system does have flaws. some of this video is a bit far fetched, but i agree with the kindergarten thing. i think education does lower creativity. you start thinking more logical. that isnt always the case. some people still are very imaginative. an example is steve jobs. a lot of people are very imaginative, and this statement doesnt always apply. but i still think its true.
i also agree that giving pills to kids to focus is wrong. they should feel energized and more active to learn.
Mainly, I think our education system is being a hypocrite, well who ever made the rules and regulation. We for 10 years were not experienced to fail. No body wasn't allowed to get under a 40%. And then the system says they are doing as much as they can for our success in the future and how they are preparing us. Really they don't even mention that there are possibilities to fail in high school. It is such a big step and some just can't handle it because they always do bad work but never fail. This is being a hypocrite and it's not RIGHT! That is why more and more in the future people are dropping out of high school. And you can't do any thing about except change the elementary education system. WE need to have a strong foundation to have higher chances to be successful. I f people know they are failing they can do something about it instead of just thinking they will always pass.
First off I really dislike the idea that the education system was based on the children in the older times, designed and rather designated for a different age group. Created under the time of industrial revolution (1750-1850) Factories, Mills, long hours, low pay. Working with things like Coal. I would change that. I would also change the fact that the way we learn in class, we learn with the teacher lecturing (With whatever he or she is lecturing about) while we sit and bore ourselves, and think about what stimulates our senses, rather than nullifying them, and shunning them. Like in our class give us an aesthetic feel, and gives us a willingness to learn. I conclude.
i would change the schools so they prepare us for whats ahead the things we need to know or get use to in the future because right now in the education of school for example what Mr. Cheney was talking to us about how if you get like a 7 percent on a test the school board as said that the lowest marker you get on your report card would be a 40 percent and that doesn't make sense because your getting a extra 33 percent for something you didn't earn and the would teach us anything or prepare us for high school because in high school if you h=get the same marker like 7 percent your going to get 7 percent on your report card or if you hand in only 2 out of 5 works sheets or work and get a 80 percent you get a 80 percent but in high school in you get a 80 percent and you didn't hand in all your work you fail and you would have to retake the course or stay back.we should be separated because of the color of are skin religion or culture i think this doesn't have to do if were different because everyone is different and why don't they separated us by one another so we each get teach by one teacher.some teachers what us to study research about what are topic is but now a days there's technology that we cant use in classes room but why because if they let us they would assume that we would be doing the wrong thing on are devices other than search up on the topic some teachers are updated and what us to use are device because its more useful in at school or during school time other than wasting your time at the library i know that some teachers hope and want use to use it for that reason but from what they have seen or experienced they think were not doing the right thing. i have seen schools that only have Caucasian and catholic but why do they have schools like these why are they separating us from others around us? we are teach to be afraid of punishment for example homework if we don't do are homework because we don't want to and we only do it because were getting punished that's not a good way to teach a child they should do there homework because there going to get punished in high school they wouldn't teach us this if we don't hand it in on time we get a zero we have to learn that we should do are homework for are self's for us we are teaching are self's we shouldn't some people say high school is the worst times of there lives but i think that reason is because we weren't prepared for what we do in high school we have to teach are self's and i don't think that's they way we should learn
The thing i would change is the justice of kids just cause a teacher has one story and kids have a different one the teachers automatically right without even a single explanation.
ReplyDeleteAnd i would change the lies that the board are forming or like there trying to prepare us for the future by not failing us or not allowing teachers to give us a grade under 40 but in the future like High school University or College or just real life they wont do that if you're failing you're failing they'll fail you without remorse how would we be prepared its hard not being failed or kept back for like 10 years then it changes without a single explanation for a lot of kids. They may be trying to help us but there really not were not going to be prepared to have a job not do as much work and be fired its common sense but its not taught to us when we were kids.
Interesting observations. Without any explanation you say? Are you sure about that? Don't we talk about the difficulties coming in high school frequently?
Deletei think if you start failing student in the elementary system it might cause the drop out rates to go higher.i think this because people mostly drop out because students flunk grades in high school
Delete@ sana but then in high school when you cant deal/ get along with the system dropping out rates are going to go higher any way
Delete@tulsi you can start taking applied with the student your age
Deletewhat do you mean?
Deletei think there should be many difference in our school rules i think all teachers should be like mr.cheney meaning we should have freedom to use the i pod for educational uses also like we talked about before we should be able to chew gum to improve our marks however the thing that is stopping the teachers to allows us this freedom is because we overuse our powers meaning we use the ipod's or other things like texting or face book and for chewing gum we put the gum below the table
ReplyDeleteif we don't do these stuff the principals will approve these stuff
hmh you think thats possible there are gonna be teachers that wanna teach like Mr.cheney and its hard because there so use to being strict and there morals and values are based on it they wont care if there students like them or not, there getting paid to do it so they dont care they have to teach not make friends
DeleteClever insight. There is role for teachers and students to play if you want changes.
Deletei have to agree with you most teachers should be like Mr. Cheney because he trust us with ipods unlike other teacher they think we are doing something else.
DeleteBeing a friendly teacher and a friend are different things. Teachers in the end are the leader of their room, and they have to lead in a way that makes them comfortable and maximizes student success. The two objectives sometimes conflict each other.
Deletebut then what if someone takes advantage of that trust?
Deletebut if you are a cool teacher more kids will listen to you so i think if you get a teacher job you should put dedication to it you should care about the kids because the kid career is in you r hands
Deletethat is the problem tulsi no teacher trust us because someone takes advantage of that trust
Deletebut then everthing cant be cool, can it? somethings have to be "umcool"
Deleteyes i think the education system does need some changes like more technology because some people get bored looking at textbook and LISTENING TO THE TEACHER SPEAK.also if have no clue what the teacher is talking about you could use technology and research on the topic so you can join in with the discussion.Or else i think the education system is fine the way it is.i disagree with video how we should be separated by how good we are in things because everyone is good at something for example some might achieve higher in math or some might achieve higher science.also because when we start high school we start getting separated from the people who achieve well from the people who don't achieve well.i think there shouldn't be student flunking in the elementary system because that can cause the dropout rates to go higher. for example if you failed to grade 5 2 time and grade 4 1 time you would wanna drop out because your not has good as other people.
ReplyDeletebut when everyone is the same level you would have better ideas and less dis agreeing so i think it is better
Deletebut won't you feel embarrassed if your 12 and u are sitting in a class filled with student age 9
DeleteDO I SPEAK THAT much? I notice the bold font
Delete@Sana I agree with you too, I think the education system needs more technology because the kids do get bored of staring at the board or listening to the teachers giving lectures. I think that if there is technology the students would be more involved in the subject and they would also be more open to new ideas and like how Mr.Cheney told us that the students would have their technology with them and it would be easier for them to learn what the teachers teaching them and they can just search up something that the teacher mentioned and they would have more information to share with the class. The only reason that schools don't allow the students to bring their technology to school is because they are afraid they might lose it or they might use it for the wrong purpose but I think that the school boards should at least give it a try.
Deleteyou would but you should remember that it is good for you like brussel sprouts you do not like them but you should remember it is good for you
Delete@ Mr.Cheney what if Sana didn't mean you by teachers???????????????
Deleteso aqib your trying to say that even though it's embarrassing for you to be among 9 year olds it's still good for you??????????????
Deleteno at least you let students speak to im talking of other teacher who keep saying the same thing over and over again because someone starts talking and the teacher starts repeating herself
Deletewhich really annoys me.
I do TALK alot!
DeleteTech by your sides is the way to go, but rules keep these items out because teachers cant control it. Its the world wide web by your side. That kind of power can motivate, create, build wisdom, and intellect. But rules tend to battle against these things.
I don't think that the school is good as it is because, as Nicole and Cheney said,elementary school and middle school doesn't set you up for high school. the learning skills are separate in our report cards but in high school your learning skills are a part of your marks. in high school you are going to be put in a class were everyone is going to be as good as you, and in elementary school the teacher praises you for your good work, which makes you feel better/fell proud of your self but its not going to happen in high school.
ReplyDeletei would make changes that would set you up for high school so it wouldnt be difficult for you then( this way you are more comfortable with the system ahead in high school)
we all have a different stage of intellect, but that doesnt mean when you fail a grade you should stay back and do that grade over. as cheney said, to be better you want to have more competition, so you can always improve.
i also think that middle school rules should be changed because going from middle school to high school the levels the standards the expectation and the rule drastically change but do you ever think if middle school rules change it will be more complicated for you?
Deletecertainly grade 7 and 8 should reflect the high school system more closely. I would be in favour of Exams at the end of the term. They would be worth 30% of your entire grade...now that is pressure.
DeleteI think that education needs to change the 40% minimum in Middle school. I think we should start preparing kids for high school so its not such a quick change. Many kids fail high school because middle schools too lean and they don't prepare us at all for high school habits.
ReplyDeleteInstead of us all getting a minimum of 40% we should have to take a course, make-up class or redo the whole class. Maybe students will perform better if they don't have to adapt that much to high school.
Redo is a great option...how many students at BHJMS would have to redo grade 8 math? then next year what would you do, there would be 10-20 repeating students!
DeleteThat option would be a bit difficult because you are going to high school next year. Maybe it should be mandatory that they take a special course in the summer so they are better prepared.
DeleteMy thought about the video is that it does shows the positive and negatives about how school is. It makes the students understand how the school system run, etc.
ReplyDeleteMy opinion about changing the school board rule is some what because the school is okay but I feel as if the grouping and failing should be different.
Grouping: The grouping system should be different because the students should be in a group on the same level as they are. Not one "high" and other "low". When the level of students are together its makes it easier for the teacher to understand who is doing the work and not. Especially when "lows" are together, it makes it easier to understand for the students that they are not going to achieve the minimum expectation to board level.
Failing: The failing system in the school system is not right because as a student its important the you know that you are not able to achieve what the criteria is for the school level. When the student know that he/she is not going to pass if he/she are not putting enough effort then the student will understanding that they need to step up their studies to achieve the expectation.
I agree with your last point. They should just keep the same criteria for middle school and high school so students aren't as confused.
DeleteI don't think it confusing, I would say shocking! I preach this for years, but students don't believe something they have never never seen. When the first bad marks start coming in in grade 9 it is a real shock for many.
DeleteIf I could change a few things in the education system it would be, technology would one thing I would change, what the schools in the TDSB should buy apple products like iPads and iPods and modify them to only have a few specific apps. I would say this idea would be great because everyone would have one, no one would complain about it. It would enhance our marks because we would have basics and then moderate and after that advance applications. wouldn't need to worry people taking the devices because they would be locked on like the Apple store's devices.
ReplyDeleteTeachers shouldn't have worries about students using the devices. Because, there would be no apps that would be entertaining to play, specifically for educational uses.
That could work but there is internet on the iPods right and that way students would just go on the internet and do whatever
DeleteIf the school can allow that, then that would be awesome because as Mr Cheney said early in the year, we need to start getting used to the technical world because the cycle is changing this generation.
Delete@JAN101 Well, the iPod would be modified and specifically for educational uses only and the schools has restricted some websites and they could block the websites that the school wouldn't use which would be a lot .
Deleteeducational IPods is a clever idea!
DeleteI think the education system does need changes because the education level is either higher for some kids but also lower but just because of that it shouldn't be that they get separated if someone cant do something that doesn't mean you should forget about them.People say it may not be possible but really it is it just needs some more effort we all aren't the same. we all have different reading levels and we are all on different stages.For an example would be Bella Thorn she was diagnosed with dyslexia when she was very young ,this disease is different for everyone hers she just couldn't read and write but she took the effort she read everything she saw and she's a level above her grade reading level now .It just needed an amount of effort so i don't think you should just give up neither should the child be separated as people say kids learn from their peers so maybe if they didn't get separated they would learn from the others. Another reason which is mentioned in the video is that just because if you work hard and get a college degree you know that you going to get a job in the future because its not true anymore going back to the super people article on how people are buying their spot rather then working for their spot maybe it was true back then but i know for sure not anymore.Things can happen along the way that you cant get a job is just the fact that you cant be so sure about.They do need to change the system and bring in some 21st generation things because the current system was designed and conceived for a different age group.
ReplyDeleteThe main things that need to change are the utensils in the learning process as the video says it does get boring and people often find something else to do so maybe if they change it and use now a day tools they education system need interesting things not old school books they want kids to learn what happening these days but if you want to do that then i think you should make them feel as they are in these days not back in the days basically they need to upgrade their levels of utensils
You are talking about tech tools? not problems with the material being taught?
DeleteThe change I would make in the school board is that they should prepare us for the future and the real world. By not making us fail would prepare us to think we will always get a grade for not doing a lot.It gives us false hope that everything would turn up good in the end.I think in countries like Pakistan and India they do make you fail and you have to redo the hole year until you pass.
ReplyDelete*whole
DeleteThe self Esteem movement is/was a powerful one. But we are learning that boosting ego's and telling people how great they are all the time doesnt produce great levels of achievement. But you do feel good about yourself.
DeleteRules and Reward stunt wisdom, intellect, motivation, and creativity.
i think the schools dont have to change much. just more freedom. sort of like mr cheney, he always lets us use ipods for educational uses which is better than taking turns on the computer.i think teachers have to develope trust in us students.even though people would text and use facebook, that is still a good risk to take. mainly because we couldget a better benifit. also music. some students focus better with different thing, so we should be able to chew gum and listen to music. thats just my opinion
ReplyDeleteTrust has to come both ways. Teachers who didnt grow up with technology will never trust students with technology if they are not using tech to maximize their learning.
DeleteMusic...hmmm not all the time, when you are truly focused you will not here the music even if you have earphones on.
Deletei agree with mr cheney.
Deleteif i am listening to music, sometimes i dont pay attention to it. im more focused on the work.
I think if I were to change anything in the school education I would change anything I would include the problems in the solution.As they say kids in our age are being fed with all these thins such as computers, iPhones, advertise hoardings,and 100s of television channels. Although there all being seeing as "wrong" and "bad" but what we actually do is use them not only for entertainment purposes but as well in educational purposes kids at this age are seeing these tools as fun and games while they can use them for maths or French.
ReplyDeleteAs well they were talking about routine and how most children go through the same process and are being fed the wrong things and even some kids are being "hypnotised" as having ADHD while they are perfectly al right.
yes the curious mind will use these resources to learn!
DeleteI think that the education system needs to start making changes, because we are still being taught the same way people were taught many years ago, that should change because our world is evolving and our education should be evolving with it. Students these days are becoming more caught up in the new technology and are becoming bored of the same rules in school,so a way engage youth in education is adding more of those stuff, such as letting us use our devices in class (even tough that may be a risk because teachers wouldn't be sure if students are doing work or on facebook or twitter) or instead of giving us book work give us more things to do on the computer
ReplyDeleteWhat are some things we can do with technology to make us more engaged?
Delete@ nicole
Deletei think its just the fact that when we have technology around, it makes it more interesting. we could be doing some work, but i think technology would make it more interesting/interactive
If you are curious and want to expand your knowledge or pre teach before lessons. Then technology can be amazing. Watch a video before the math lesson, look up a quote or person as we talk in class, find a fact about the Oil sands as we discuss the environment. Dont just listen to teachers lecture, explore and share as they talk. Dont just sit and listen to teachers, hear and explore on your devises as they talk.
Delete@ mr cheney
Deletei think that you are the only teacher that actually promotes the use of technology.
that is something that the board should change.
it would be better to have more teachers like mr cheney, and be more open about the use of technology.
The education system and grading system I would say is conditioning kids to think that they are either smart or dumb. If they get a's, they are smart, if they fail they are just plain stupid. This is not true, just because someone gets higher grades then someone it doesn't mean they are smarter. The education system labels kids with a letter or number. Also the grade we all supposedly have with our IQs, the higher the IQ, the smarter you are. In schools many kids don't see a point in going to school because they figure that they are dumb, when they start failing and continue to fail they will see no point in school and their life. Because the things we are taught is if we work hard to get high grades, we can go to college and get a job, therefore have a "normal" and "proper" life. So they are just promoting the education system, they dont teach kids to be ambitious and motivated and think outside the box, (the education system box), they teach them to FOLLOW the system and not LEAD their own lives. Because the reward at the end is money, and everyone wants money, we've been exposed to television shows with rich girls who care about money and only money, and we assume money brings happiness. But it really doesnt.
ReplyDeleteSegregation is a huge factor in education, the way we are all separated by our age, and the grades we get, but not our skills. In classrooms we all have to work in groups at some point and most kids don't work well in groups, and get more work done on their own. Some kids need more time to understand something more then others. We even have separatism with race, like that afro-centric school, and catholic schools, we should be separated by our race and beliefs because that effects our learning skills and work habits? And then there are kids who are in behaviour classes, and kids who have developed ADHD who have been proscribed drugs to help them be calm? It seems like the education system is trying the best they can to separate kids as much as they can, with things that dont really matter. And the ADHD thing is a bi-product of things we see on t.v, that can make our brains think a certain way.
I would change a lot of things. One thing is to put classes of kids that they all have different talents or special math skills. Like if there's a class, in that class should be one math brain, one geography brain, one history brain, one french brain, one language brain, one reading brain, one music brain, and yeah you guys get my point.
ReplyDeleteAlso I would change testing. I would let the kids study at home, but I wouldn't let them study 15 minutes before the test because in the end they will forget, so whats the point of doing that? I think that the curriculum should be much higher than it is now. I think that grade 6's should be learning what grade 8's are learning. As well all people would finish school at 17 then you have one year to think what you wanna do. Meantime people in University would finish MUCH faster. Making school there harder, but make it shorter. I would cut out subject that are not needed in school and that everyone that failed will have to repeat the coarse that there selecting. One more thing that I would change is Academic & Applied. There would be no such think as applied because truly it's not needed. If everyone works hard then you will get it right. Teamwork will help you. Including that no one will be send to a 'Help School' like people with ADHD will not be separated from the school that they went to before.One very important thing is that I would not hire teachers that explain on the board. All the teacher will have to make it fun. Eg. If your learning architectural design then she/he would take the class to wonderland or on a plane to see how it's built and how it work also the benefit of fun it gives.
Moreover, Technology will be used, but in my school i would provide it with no apps like temple run, or games like that. The reason why I would do that is that no one will be distracted by anything.
Testing would be different for the reason I wouldn't tell the people what the test is on, I would only say what book it's in. Of coarse, I would make the teacher teach the lesson, it's just the students would study much more than there supposed to, thus, they will remember everything much longer.
Text book work is another thing I would change as we know ourselves textbook work is boring, you barely learn anything, teaching the way where you walk around and keeping the class active would be best and having the class communicate.
ReplyDeletei agree. giving work in front of you to read isnt very exciting, and these could be one of the reasons why kids dont focus a lot during school.
DeleteI agree , they always make work sound harder then it usually is.Like in math , the textbook has that confusing explanation when the teacher can teach the same thing in a easier way.
DeleteBut isn't text book work just to revise and help you excelling in harder questions?
Deletei agree with rohan. but its still a bit boring.
Deletewe could get similar questions by a teacher, and also have a better understanding.
Boring, yes, essential skill to have as a reader, yes. You do have to be able to read through material to get info. Your ipods though can help you. Have it with you as you read, there is a video clip that could help you with every category and subcategory.
Delete@ mr cheney
Deleteyes but only you actually allow us to use our ipods like that.
i think that the educational system does have flaws.
ReplyDeletesome of this video is a bit far fetched, but i agree with the kindergarten thing.
i think education does lower creativity.
you start thinking more logical.
that isnt always the case.
some people still are very imaginative. an example is steve jobs. a lot of people are very imaginative, and this statement doesnt always apply. but i still think its true.
i also agree that giving pills to kids to focus is wrong. they should feel energized and more active to learn.
Mainly, I think our education system is being a hypocrite, well who ever made the rules and regulation. We for 10 years were not experienced to fail. No body wasn't allowed to get under a 40%. And then the system says they are doing as much as they can for our success in the future and how they are preparing us. Really they don't even mention that there are possibilities to fail in high school. It is such a big step and some just can't handle it because they always do bad work but never fail. This is being a hypocrite and it's not RIGHT! That is why more and more in the future people are dropping out of high school. And you can't do any thing about except change the elementary education system. WE need to have a strong foundation to have higher chances to be successful. I f people know they are failing they can do something about it instead of just thinking they will always pass.
ReplyDeleteFirst off I really dislike the idea that the education system was based on the children in the older times, designed and rather designated for a different age group. Created under the time of industrial revolution (1750-1850) Factories, Mills, long hours, low pay. Working with things like Coal. I would change that.
ReplyDeleteI would also change the fact that the way we learn in class, we learn with the teacher lecturing (With whatever he or she is lecturing about) while we sit and bore ourselves, and think about what stimulates our senses, rather than nullifying them, and shunning them. Like in our class give us an aesthetic feel, and gives us a willingness to learn. I conclude.
i would change the schools so they prepare us for whats ahead the things we need to know or get use to in the future because right now in the education of school for example what Mr. Cheney was talking to us about how if you get like a 7 percent on a test the school board as said that the lowest marker you get on your report card would be a 40 percent and that doesn't make sense because your getting a extra 33 percent for something you didn't earn and the would teach us anything or prepare us for high school because in high school if you h=get the same marker like 7 percent your going to get 7 percent on your report card or if you hand in only 2 out of 5 works sheets or work and get a 80 percent you get a 80 percent but in high school in you get a 80 percent and you didn't hand in all your work you fail and you would have to retake the course or stay back.we should be separated because of the color of are skin religion or culture i think this doesn't have to do if were different because everyone is different and why don't they separated us by one another so we each get teach by one teacher.some teachers what us to study research about what are topic is but now a days there's technology that we cant use in classes room but why because if they let us they would assume that we would be doing the wrong thing on are devices other than search up on the topic some teachers are updated and what us to use are device because its more useful in at school or during school time other than wasting your time at the library i know that some teachers hope and want use to use it for that reason but from what they have seen or experienced they think were not doing the right thing. i have seen schools that only have Caucasian and catholic but why do they have schools like these why are they separating us from others around us? we are teach to be afraid of punishment for example homework if we don't do are homework because we don't want to and we only do it because were getting punished that's not a good way to teach a child they should do there homework because there going to get punished in high school they wouldn't teach us this if we don't hand it in on time we get a zero we have to learn that we should do are homework for are self's for us we are teaching are self's we shouldn't some people say high school is the worst times of there lives but i think that reason is because we weren't prepared for what we do in high school we have to teach are self's and i don't think that's they way we should learn
ReplyDelete@ mrcheney
ReplyDeletepruthviraj wants to know if you have his ipod.
he left it at the large gym.
can you please reply a.s.a.p
thanks.